You’re not the boss of me

Do you think a knitwear designer has the right to tell you what you can or can’t do with something you made from their pattern?

A lot of patterns from Ravelry include this type of disclaimer: Do not make hats to sell from this pattern. Do not use this pattern in any way, to make a profit, unless you have my written approval.

Yeah, right….. I really don’t care if you don’t want me to sell the hat I made from your pattern. You can’t tell me that I can’t make a profit. I don’t need your permission to sell a hat I happened to make from your pattern.

I can’t sell your pattern for a profit – but if I don’t want it any more, I can sell it.

This is the disclaimer I have on my pattern: 

Please note:
You have purchased this pattern for your personal use only.
You have not purchased the permissions to copy, distribute or sell the pattern.
You may print a hard copy of the pattern for your personal use, but may not distribute it, for free or at cost, under any circumstances.

Basically, the above-mentioned designer thinks she has full control over what I do with what I make. If the yarn manufacturer had the same disclaimer, she couldn’t sell anything she made with that yarn. If fabric manufacturers had the same disclaimer, I guess everyone would learn how to sew their own clothes because no one would be able to sell anything made from the pattern.

So, Miss Designer, you are not the boss of me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

