It’s just *that* time of year….

What is it, about the month of December, that turns the lower mainland into a sea of self-absorbed people, thoughtless, uncaring and always in a hurry.

Now, as I sat in traffic this afternoon, patiently waiting to get through the tunnel, the woman in the car behind me refused to let the merging traffic in. She stayed right on my back bumper. I’m sure she got pretty pissed at me when I did let someone in, well, maybe it was a few, and then, when I waved someone ahead and let them in infront of me, I though she was going to have a heart attack.

The other thing I can’t figure out – I’m driving down HWY 99, doing, well — let’s just say I was exceeding the posted speed limit — in the right hand lane and some jackass in a BMW changes lanes from the left into the right, then starts honking at me and flashing his lights. Yes, I did check to make sure those flashing lights weren’t blue and red. Then he whipped around me and took the next exit. Man, if you were in that much of a hurry, you should have left earlier.

Canada Line riders – I know you want to get home after a long day at work. Guess what.. I want to do that too. Don’t push me out of your way to get on the train first. I know where to stand so that I can be close to the doorway. If you want to stand somewhere else, then that’s your problem. I see you EVERY afternoon so I know it’s not the first time you’ve gotten on this train. And, once we both get on the train, I don’t want you leaning on me because the train is so full. Be an grown up and stand up straight. Don’t hang off the pole – it’s a train, not a bar. And you, the young guy sitting in the courtesy seat watching a movie on your IPAD…. I know you see the old man standing in front of you. Get up and give him your seat; and stop pretending to be asleep. Then, there are the people that will only stand at the door. Move down a bit and it won’t be so crowded at the door; and if you have the need to stand by the door, move out of the way at the next station so that people can get out.

I have to give kudos to the bus driver last week. The bus was full. We sat for about 5 minutes (time stop) and just as the driver started up the bus, a woman in a wheelchair rolled up and asked for the ramp to be lowered so she could board. The driver said the bus was full and both wheelchair spots were already taken, one with a wheelchair and the other a baby stroller. She says, “that spot is for wheelchairs, not strollers so tell them to get off the bus”. He says, “there is another bus 5 minutes away and he’ll be able to fit you onto his bus. This one is full.”

Now – I thought he handled that situation well. The bus is full. I don’t feel the woman in the second wheelchair has the right to demand someone get off the bus (and it would probably have been a few of the standing passengers too) in order for her to get on. If she had been at the stop when we were all boarding, then it would be a different story, but it was already full when she got to the stop. Does that make me a bad person?

That’s all my little brain has for today.

This entry was posted in Ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

